Internal Nursing Awards

Each year Memorial Hospital recognizes and honors excellence among Memorial Hospital Belleville and Memorial Hospital Shiloh nursing staff through the Excellence in Nursing Awards.

Nurses may be nominated by their colleagues, physicians, or patients. The award was established to recognize nurses who demonstrate excellence and leadership in their role and practice setting. The recipients are selected by the awardees from the previous year based on the Magnet® domains of Transformational Leadership; Structural Empowerment; Exemplary Professional Practice; New Knowledge, Innovations and Improvements; and Empirical Outcomes. A ‘Rookie of the Year’ Award is also established for nurses newer to the organization or to nursing practice that are seen as rising stars. Additionally, a ‘Distinguished Magnet Nurse of the Year’ award is given each year to a nurse who fully encompasses all the Magnet® components in their professional practice. In 2021, an Interprofessional Team Award was added to recognize the great work of other disciplines that works as a team with nursing services.

Nurses who receive these awards are role models for nursing excellence, provide excellent care in a professional and competent manner while demonstrating a holistic approach to caring. They have personal qualities that enhance practice and relate to patients, families, and their peers. They participate in quality, research, and strive for professional development through certification and education. They are nurses who truly advocate for patients and their families.

2021 Excellence in Nursing Awards Recipients

Distinguished Magnet Nurse of the Year

  • Karla Dean MSN, RN, CEN, CPEN

Transformational Leadership

  • Lindsey Gause MSN, RN-BC
  • Erin Biehl RN, C-EFM
  • Ronald Foster RN-BC

Structural Empowerment

  • Lauren Kaylor BSN, RN, CEN
  • Brooke Beck MSN, RN, CCRN

Exemplary Professional Practice

  • Cynthia Marcus BSN, RN-BC
  • Kayla Huelsmann BSN, RN

New Knowledge, Innovations, and Improvements

  • Melissa Mayberry BSN, RN
  • Vickie Henry MSN, RN, CPAN

Empirical Outcomes

  • Brian Ripperda BSN, RN, CPAN
  • Holly Loepker BSN, RN

Rookie of the Year

  • Payton Leidholm BSN, RN
  • Joshua Mrkvicka BSN, RN
  • Amanda Roskowski RN

Interprofessional Collaboration Award-Transitional Care Clinic

  • Jackie Kluthe MSN, RN-BC
  • Melissa Rehkemper MSN, RN, FNP-BC
  • Stephanie Kribs BSN, RN
  • Lauren Eversgerd PharmD, BCACP
  • Barb Masters MSN, RN-BC, CCRP
  • Dina Chapman MS, RD, LDN, CDCES
  • Meghann Talkington RD, LDN
  • Dani Schrage MSN, RN-BC
  • Tami Johnson MSN, RN, CDCES
  • Shannah Pierce MSW, LSW

No Excellence in Nursing Awards were given in 2022 due to planning for our Magnet Redesignation/Site Visit.

Recognizing Individual Nursing Achievements

The Outstanding Leadership Award is intended to recognize directors, managers, and supervisors at Memorial Hospital: Belleville & Shiloh, who are role models and consistently exceed expectations. All directors, managers and supervisors were eligible provided he/she has worked at Memorial Hospital for at least one year and has received a formal Performance Appraisal. The year 2020 marked the first ever Outstanding Leadership Award.

Recipients of the 2022 Outstanding Leadership Award

  • Jennifer Durbin MSN, RN-BC
  • Natosha McEvers MSN, RNC-OB, RNC-LRN

Recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Leadership Award

  • Vickie Henry MSN, RN, CPAN