About Southwestern Illinois EMS System

About Southwestern Illinois EMS System

The Southwestern Illinois EMS System has been an approved Resource Hospital by the Illinois Department of Public Health since March 25, 1976.

This allows the hospital to operate the Southwestern Illinois EMS System, which is “an organization of hospitals, vehicle service providers, dispatch centers, and personnel approved by the Department in a specific geographic area, which coordinates and provides pre-hospital and inter-hospital emergency care and non-emergency medical transports at a BLS, ILS, and/or ALS level pursuant to a System Program Plan submitted to and approved by the Department and pursuant to the EMS Regional Plan adopted for the EMS Region in which the System is located.” (Section 3.20 of the Illinois EMS Act)

Currently, the EMS System includes services that cover Clinton, St. Clair, Madison, Monroe, and Randolph Counties. The Southwestern Illinois EMS System provides paramedic training and continuing education for local EMS providers.


The Southwestern Illinois EMS System is one of six EMS Systems within the Illinois Department of Public Health EMS Region IV. Our members are dedicated healthcare professionals, focused on furthering the advancement of pre-hospital emergency care through evidence-based practices. This allows us to provide the best care and outcomes for the patients in the communities we serve.

Agency List


  • Memorial Hospital Belleville
  • Memorial Hospital Shiloh
  • Touchette Regional Hospital
  • Memorial Hospital of Chester
  • Red Bud Regional Hospital
  • Sparta Community Hospital

Transport Services

  • Abbott EMS – Belleville
  • City of Columbia EMS
  • Dupo Fire Department
  • City of Mascoutah EMS
  • Medstar Ambulance, Inc.
  • Millstadt EMS
  • Monroe County EMS
  • City of New Baden EMS
  • City of New Athens EMS

Non-Transport Services

  • Aviston Fire Department
  • Beckemeyer-Wade Township Fire Protection District
  • Caseyville Fire Department 
  • Casino Queen, Inc.
  • Clin-Clair Fire Protection District 
  • Evansville Fire Department
  • Germantown Fire Protection District 
  • Hecker Fire Protection District 
  • Hoffman Fire Protection District 
  • Huey-Ferrin-Boulder Fire Protection District 
  • Marissa First Responders
  • Mascoutah Fire Department 
  • Prairie Du Rocher Fire Department 
  • Prairie State Generating Company
  • Red Bud Fire Department
  • Region IV Regional Medical Emergency Response Team (RMERT)
  • Santa Fe (Bartelso) Fire Protection District
  • St. Libory Fire Department
  • State Park Fire Department
  • Steelville First Responders
  • Tilden Fire Protection District 
  • Valmeyer Fire Protection District 
  • Wheatfield Township Fire Department 

Communication Centers

  • Abbott EMS – St. Louis
  • City of Belleville
  • City of Columbia Police
  • City of O’Fallon – MECOM
  • Medstar Ambulance, Inc.
  • Monroe County Sheriff 
  • St. Clair County – Cencom East
  • St. Clair County – Cencom West